Into the Lion’s Den

People need to verbalize feelings in order to cope with stress. Talking with a trusted friend, writing on a journal, painting a picture, anything as long as it is cathartic, anything as long as it will purge out the negative emotions in you.

For most of the past week, I have found myself crying and craving for chocolate. Because work had been stressful. Unfortunately, when I got home, I had no one to talk to. This plus the nursing responsibilities made me want to quit. Maybe I’m still in the adjustment period, thus my mentality.

I’m still figuring out how to handle the tasks assigned to me. I’m still trying to manage my time. I’m still working my way to forming meaningful relationships with workmates. I think it is too much for my heart to handle- being outside my comfort zone with nothing familiar I could hold on to. I think God just threw me in a lion’s den.

A daunting task it is. A task ready to break me. And I think I am getting broken already. But I know God has a great purpose for all of these and I can see His hand despite my tears. My circumstance is pulling me closer to Him. In my weakness, He is my strength. 2 Corinthians 12: 9 is a great reminder: And He said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee; for My strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Friend, if you are going under a lot of stress, verbalize your feelings to God. He wants to listen to you and wants to lessen the weight you are carrying, so give Him the chance. The road ahead may seem too dark for you to follow, but God led you there for a purpose. Trust Him that He knows what He is doing and trust Him that He will deliver you whole. Yes, you may not emerge unscathed, but you will definitely emerge a better person, a person molded by time and pressure for God’s glory. He did not bring you to the waters to drown you; He brought you there to cleanse you. Applying this to my current situation, God is taking people away from me so I can have only Him. He is emptying me so I could be filled by Him. Let us not resist; instead, let us yield to God. Let’s do this together, friend!

Leave a Reply

